Set #1 Concept to Design Update 1

Set 1 - The Jungle v2

Train of thought/Summary

Japan doesn’t have any gothic architecture and most of its old architecture have shaped roofs. I think when you imagine cities like Hong Kong I tend to think of these cramped, rigid building after rigid building layouts that are cluttered with neon lighting and advertisements.

I think I’ll be referring to the research in my early blogs for most of this research (Research Part 4).

Not really much else to say on this.

A lot of images of Hong Kong show this city that has rows upon rows of identical buildings with different coloured walls to separate the monotony, I’ll probably carry over the idea (though you aren’t really going to be able to tell either way since we’ll see no higher than Roach’s positions, but still.)

I want all of the walls to bulge with balconies, windows, advertisements and graffiti to create this really closed in and dingy atmosphere. The streets will be likewise, covered to an almost exaggerated degree in neon and signs.

I do want the building that houses the garden and billboard to stand out. in the top corner of the mood board there are two images of a building with a glass facade. I think that kind of shape can help me achieve this.

Leave a comment